5 Values to Learn From Filipino Holy Week Traditions | Knowledge Channel

5 Values to Learn From Filipino Holy Week Traditions

The Holy Week is one of the most sacred weeks in the liturgical year for Catholics. Filipinos have long upheld this annual tradition with different ways to express their faith. Here are some values you can teach your kids as you introduce them to the different Filipino Holy Week traditions!  


1. Love and the Pabasa 

Pabasa is the poetic chanting of the passion, death and resurrection of Christ. Devotees take turns in singing verses of the Pasyon, an epic narrative of the life of Jesus Christ. It is sang uninterrupted lasting several hours or even days depending on the flow of the chanting. Hearing Christ’s journey leading to His ultimate sacrifice to save humanity is a great example of unconditional love. Watch how various devoted groups in Rizal sing the Pabasa in this Wow episode! 



2. Humility and Senakulo 

The Senakulo is a dramatic depiction of the passion and death of Christ. It relieves the life of Jesus Christ from his birth until his death and resurrection. It is usually performed in churches on Good Friday to encourage people to reflect and be humble in the face of the sacrifices made by Jesus Christ for our salvation. It’s a great reminder on Jesus’ humility by becoming man and suffering for the salvation of the world. Here’s an example of Senakulo performed by the Morong Cultural Taskforce. 



3. Devotion and Prusisyon 

The Prusisyon is one of the oldest Holy Week traditions that takes place on Holy Wednesday and Good Friday. A parade of religious statues depicting the Passion of Christ on carriages called carosas that march through the streets , while devotees follow them with lighted candles.all day. The parade is a symbol of devotion to honor and celebrate the life, death and resurrection of Christ. Watch how one of the towns of Rizal prepares for their Prusisyon in this Wow episode! 



4. Compassion, Forgiveness, and the Penitensya 

Penitensya coming from the word penitence is an act of showing one’s sorrow and regret for his wrong doings. Devotees perform self-flagellation to reenact Jesus’ suffering during his carrying of the cross up to his crucifixion as an expression of repentance and a way of seeking compassion and forgiveness. Here are some types of Penitensya that devotees of provinces like Pampanga and Bulacan continue to practice. 


5. Gratitude and the Salubong 

Salubong is held on Easter Sunday, the last day of Holy Week and marks the beginning of Easter. Salubong starts very early in the morning of Easter Sunday with two processions -, the Resurrected Christ and the grieving Mother Mary.  They will meet at ain church as a celebration of the resurrection of Christ and a symbol of gratitude for our salvation. Here’s an example of Salubong! 



Holy week really is indeed a great time to reflect for many Filipinos Catholics. What other values or traditions do you put into practice during this time? Share it with us! Be sure to like and follow Knowledge Channel on YouTubeTikTokFacebookInstagram, and Twitter (X)  for more educational content like this one!