ABS-CBN bags recognitions in Lopez Achievement Awards

ABS-CBN emerged as the most-awarded company in the recently held Lopez Achievement Awards (LAA) 2013 cycle for the outstanding and remarkable projects it accomplished last year.

ABS-CBN won two awards in the Customer Focus category for its celebration of Philippine TV’s 60 years with the theme “60 Years of Philippine TV: Kwento Natin Ito,” and its 2013 election coverage “Halalan 2013.” Sky Cable also won in the said category for its special service to their subscribers called “Kapamilya Kita.”

For the Corporate Public Responsibility category, LAA awarded news and current affairs program “Failon Ngayon,” and campaigns for Typhoon Yolanda victims such as ABS-CBN’s “Tulong Na, Tabang Na, Tayo Na” and Sky Cable’s “Ang Tugon ng Sky sa Yolanda.” The top cable company also won in the LAA Corporate Image Building for their special operation during the Zamboanga siege called “Animo Sky Zambo.”

Bantay Bata 163 and Sagip Kapamilya Program Director Tina Monzon-Palma was recognized with a special award for her exemplary leadership for the programs of ABS-CBN Foundation.

Meanwhile, LAA also gave recognitions to different individuals, groups, and programs that volunteered and made huge sacrifices during the wrath of Typhoon Yolanda. Given special citations were veteran broadcast journalist Ted Failon, news reporter Atom Araullo, ABS-CBN Foundation’s Isabelita Montifar, and ABS-CBN Regional’s Angelo Angolo.

Other recognized "Yolanda Heroes" included the teams of “TV Patrol,” “Failon Ngayon,” “Kris TV,” “Salamat Dok,” ABS-CBN Integrated News and Current Affairs, Sagip Kapamilya, Lingkod Kapamilya, Fairview Yolanda team, and ABS-CBN Regional.

The Lopez Achievement Awards is the annual award-giving ceremony of Lopez Group which gives recognition for the outstanding projects carried out by its subsidiaries and affiliates.