ASAP outlasts and outshines other Sunday noontime variety shows
On February 22, ASAP 19 will officially become ASAP 20 as ASAP, the leading and longest running Sunday noontime show in the country, celebrates its 20th year. ASAP now beats even record holder GMA Supershow, which lasted 19 years from 1978 t0 1997. GMA Supershow was hosted by German Moreno.

In their Press Conference for their 20th anniversary, Martin Nievera who has been with ASAP since day one, said that the secret to ASAP’s longevity is that they allow each other to shine. Zsa-Zsa Padilla, who joined ASAP in 1997, admitted there is healthy competition among the ASAP talents that push them to “better their game,” and help propel the show to excellence.

Gary Valenciano, who became part of ASAP in 2003, said it is also the passion of each artist that is the reason why ASAP continues to be the best and the most coveted stage for showcasing Philippine talents.

ASAP’s very first episode aired on February 5, 1995 with main hosts Martin, Pops Fernandez, Ariel Rivera and Dayanara Torres. The teen hosts were Pare Ko cast Claudine Barretto, Victor Neri and Jolina Magdangal. In 1996, Piolo Pascual became part of ASAP.

Other noontime shows have tried for ASAP’s stature and staying power but have failed. SOP or Sobrang Okey Pare! from rival network GMA started airing in 1997. It reformatted several times and finally had its final episode on February 8, 2010 as SOP Fully Charged. SOP was originally hosted by Ogie Alcasid, Janno Gibbs, and Vina Morales.

Party Pilipinas then replaced SOP Fully Charged in its noontime slot and began airing in March 2010, with most of its hosts coming from SOP. It aired until May of 2013.

Sunday All Stars then came into the Sunday noontime variety scene and began airing June of 2013 with hosts Regine Velasquez, Janno Gibbs and Jaya.

Another noontime variety show P.O.5 of TV 5 only aired for a year as it started airing in April 2010 and had its final episode on February 20, 2011.

Now, ASAP’S main hosts are Martin, Zsa Zsa, Gary V and Vina Morales, who became one of the main hosts of ASAP in 2000. ASAP boasts the best roster of talents in the industry including Sarah Geronimo, Piolo Pascual, Toni Gonzaga, Jed Madela, Angeline Quinto, Erik Santos, Nikki Gil, Aiza Seguerra, KC Concepcion, Shaina Magdayao, Maja Salvador, Kim Chiu, Kathryn Bernardo, Daniel Padilla, Gerald Anderson, Liza Soberano and Enrique Gil.