Himig Handog 2018 annnounces Top 10 Songs and this year's interpreters


Himig Handog 2018 annnounces Top 10 Songs and this year s interpreters  1

Ten songs have finally been chosen from over 5,000 entries sent by Filipinos from all over the Philippines and abroad, now hailed as the Himig Handog 2018 finalists vying to become this year’s Best Song from the country’s biggest and much-awaited songwriting competition.

These original compositions will be interpreted by some of today’s hottest and rising music performers in the tradition of Himig Handog, with this year’s theme “Love Songs and Love Stories.”

Your Face Sounds Familiar Kids” season 2 contestants Krystal Brimner and Sheena Belarmino, together with the all-female idol group MNL 48, will perform “Dalawang Pag-ibig Niya” by Bernard Reforsado of Albay.

“TNT” singer Eumee will interpret “Hati Na Lang Tayo Sa Kanya” by Joseph Santiago of Quezon City.

R&B royalty Kyla returns for the fourth time as Himig Handog interpreter and will be joined by upcoming rapper Kritiko to sing “Kababata” by John Michael Edixon of Parañaque City.

Mas Mabuti Pa,” composed by Mhonver Lopez and Joanna Concepcion of Laguna, will be interpreted by this year’s “Tawag Ng Tanghalan” grand champion Janine Berdin.

BoybandPH, meanwhile, will perform “Para Sa Tabi,”  a composition sent by Robert William Pereña all the way from Dubai in the Middle East.

Araw Gabi” lead actor JM de Guzman will sing the composition of Davao’s pride Kyle Raphael Borbon entitled “Sa Mga Bituin Na Lang Ibubulong.”

Sugarol,” composed by Jan Sabili of Muntinlupa City, will be performed by Star Pop artist Maris Racal.

Jona also returns to Himig Handog as interpreter for the third consecutive year, this time for the entry “Tinatapos Ko Na” composed by Sarah Jane Gandia from USA.

“Wakasan” by Philip Arvin Jarilla of Antipolo will be performed by OPM band Agsunta, while “Wala Kang Alam,” written by Martin John Arellano of Manila and Mel Magno of Pampanga, will be interpreted by Sam Mangubat.

Catch the Himig Handog performances on ASAP starting this Sunday (October 7). The winners will be announced on November 25.

Himig Handog 2018 will be awarding P1 million to the grand prize winner, while P500,000 will be brought home by the 2nd Best Song. The composers of the 3rd, 4th, and 5th Best Songs will receive P200,000, P150,000, and P100,000, respectively.

Now on its 9th year, the ABS-CBN and Star Music project continues to discover Filipino talents and champion OPM in its search for compositions that will make its mark in the local music scene.

Last year, Libertine Amistoso’s “Titibo-Tibo,” interpreted by Moira dela Torre, earned the Himig Handog 2017 Best Song and won the hearts of many listeners.