ABS-CBN wins big in Mindanao State University’s Kabantugan Awards

ABS-CBN raked in 17 awards at the Mindanao State University General Santos’ 16th Kabantugan Awards for its entertainment, news, and local Kapamilya personalities.

Journalists Ted Failon and Karen Davila were named Best Male TV News Anchor and Best Female TV News Anchor, while “SOCO” was hailed as Best TV Investigative Program.


The country’s most watched TV program, “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano,” continues its winning streak as it took home the award for Best Primetime TV Show. Mcneal “Awra” Briguela, one of the show’s stars, won Best TV Male Child Wonder.

Kapamilya child star Xia Vigor was also triumphant as she bagged the award for Best TV Female Child Wonder. Meanwhile, Vice Ganda emerged as the Best Gay TV Personality.

Other winning entertainment programs were “Magandang Buhay” (Best TV Morning Show) and “Minute to Win It” (Best TV Game Show).

The Kapamilya network’s local programs and personalities were also honored including Justine B (Best Male FM DJ), DJ Bettina (Best Female DJ), Chai Tabunaway (Best Female TV News Anchor, Best Female TV Field Reporter), Joey C (Most Popular Male TV Personality), Bettina Cabacos (Most Popular Female TV Personality), and Jay Dayupay (Best Male TV Field Reporter).