ABS-CBN is Best TV Station again in 3rd Paragala Central Luzon Media Awards
ABS-CBN Corporation continues to dominate student award-giving bodies by hauling in a total of 43 recognitions including two Best TV Station awards from the 3rd Paragala awards and the 3rd UmalohokJUAN awards this March.

Of the 43 awards, 16 came from the Paragala ceremonies, 17 from the UmalohokJUAN, and 10 from the 7th NSCART awards.

The Paragala Central Luzon Media awards is composed of 31 schools in Region III and is on its third year of handing out awards to the media. The Kapamilya network’s news arm garnered citations from the 3rd Paragala awards such as Best Male Field Reporter (Atom Araullo), Best Female Morning Show Host (Bernadette Sembrano for “Umagang Kay Ganda), Best Morning Show (“Umagang Kay Ganda”), and Best Educational Program (Matanglawin).

The network’s top-rating entertainment programs and artists also got much love from the youth of Central Luzon. Groundbreaking teleserye “Forevermore” was hailed as Best Teleserye, “Maalaala Mo Kaya” was named Best Drama Anthology, “Gandang Gabi Vice” was Best Celebrity Talk TV Show, “Aquino and Abunda Tonight” was Best Showbiz-Oriented Show, and “ASAP” took home Best Musical Variety Show. ABS-CBN personalities and celebrities were all given due recognition led by Vice Ganda, who won Best Talk Show Host, Best Noontime Show Host, and a Hall of Fame award. Boy Abunda likewise won Best Showbiz-Oriented Show Host, “Forevermore” leading man Enrique Gil was named Best TV Actor, and Maja Salvador was Best TV Actress for her role in “Bridges of Love.” ABS-CBN Pampanga also took home the Best Local TV Station award that night.

Meanwhile, the UmalohokJUAN awards established by Lyceum of the Philippines University gives due recognition to media practitioners in radio and television. ABS-CBN's brave and truth-seeking journalists and programs also triumphed after being given Best AM Radio Station (DZMM), Best News Program (“TV Patrol”), Best Female AM Personality and Best Female News Anchor (Karen Davila), Best AM Radio News Program (“Kabayan”), Best Male News Anchor (Ted Failon), Best Public Service Program (SOCO), and Best AM Radio Public Service Program (“Aksyon Ngayon”). Meanwhile, the school gave the following additional honors for entertainment: Best Entertainment Program (“Gandang Gabi Vice”), Best Male TV Host (Vice Ganda), and Best Female TV Host (Toni Gonzaga), Best Youth-Oriented Program (“Wansapanataym”), Best Child Performer (Xymon Pineda of “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano), Best TV Actress (Jodi Sta. Maria for her role in “Pangako Sa’Yo”), and Best TV Actor (Coco Martin). “It’s Showtime's” Anne Curtis was also given Best Celebrity Advocacy for her work as a UNICEF ambassador.

At the 7th NSCART awards, the first and only radio and television awards in Visayas, the students and judging panel gave the Kapamilya network the following awards: Best Actor in Primetime Teleserye (Coco Martin), Best Actress in Primetime Teleserye (Bea Alonzo), Best Supporting Actor in Primetime Teleserye (Ian Veneracion), Best Male Child Star (Zaijan Jaranilla), Best Primetime Teleserye (“Forevermore”), Best Talk Show (“Gandang Gabi Vice”), Best Educational Program (“Matanglawin”), Best Drama Anthology (“Maalaala Mo Kaya”), Best Reality Show (“Pinoy Big Brother 737”), and Best Business Oriented Program (“My Puhunan”).

The Best TV Station awards from the 3rd UmalohokJUAN and the 3rd Paragala awards mark the third and fourth time the network has been given such recognition for the year. “We are glad that these student award-giving bodies recognize our continued efforts to put out programs that help teach them values and the tireless effort of the company to be of service to the Filipino people,” said ABS-CBN Integrated Corporate Communications head Kane Choa.