FAMAS bestows lifetime achievement award upon Charo Santos-Concio
FAMAS bestows lifetime achievement award upon Charo Santos Concio 1

Multi-awarded actress and film producer and ABS-CBN chief content officer Charo Santos Concio was honored with a Lifetime Achievement Award at the 67th  Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences Awards on Sunday (April 28) for her contributions to Philippine cinema. 

FAMAS recognized Charo and female Filipino directors Laurice Guillen and Marilou Diaz-Abaya for “breaking glass ceilings and developing Philippine cinema to where it is today.”

In a statement by FAMAS, Jury Head and multi-awarded screenwriter Ricky Lee said the winners “pushed Filipino cinema forward, not only through their efforts in front and behind the cameras, but through their dedication to create new platforms that would usher and nurture a new generation of Filipino filmmakers.”

Through her Instagram account, Charo thanked one of the most prestigious award-giving bodies for film in the Philippines for her newest accolade.  “Thank you for appreciating my craft. I hope to be able to contribute more to the industry the best way I can. Mabuhay ang pelikulang Pilipino!” she said.

Charo entered the film industry as a production assistant, getting her breakthrough acting role in Lino Brocka’s “Itim” and going on to star and win recognitions in films like “Tisoy,” “Kisapmata,” “Kakabakaba ka ba?” “Gumapang Ka sa Lusak,” “Hindi Mo Ako Kaya Tapakan,” and recently in “Ang Babaeng Humayo,” which won her a Best Actress nomination at the prestigious Asian Film Festival Awards in 2017.

Aside from acclaimed on-screen portrayals, she was also part of iconic films such as “Himala,” “Oro Plata Mata,” and “Kisapmata” as producer.

Charo was also cited for championing the restoration and preservation of classic Filipino films with the ABS-CBN Film Restoration Project. She was also previously the president and CEO of ABS-CBN, the country’s leading entertainment and media company.

Three Kapamilya actresses also earned special awards. “It’s Showtime” host and actress Anne Curtis earned an Fernando Poe Jr. Memorial Award for her work in film and TV, being the first actress to win the recognition. Maymay Entrata won the German Moreno Youth Achievement Award, while veteran actress Maricel Soriano, who currently appears on “The General’s Daughter,” earned the King of Comedy Dolphy Memorial Award for her body of work. Meanwhile, DZMM Radyo Patrol 630’s Jobert Sucaldito, who co-anchors showbiz talk show “Mismo” with Ahwel Paz, won the Arturo Padua Memorial Award. 

A number of movies from the 2018 C1 Originals Festival of ABS-CBN cable channel Cinema One also won awards in various categories.

Never Tear Us Apart aka Fisting” was one of two winners of the Grand Jury Prize for Film.

“A Short History of a Few Bad Things” lead Victor Neri won the award for Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role while “Double Twisting Double Black” actor Joem Bascon won Outstanding Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role.

“Never Tear Us Apart aka Fisting” also won Best Musical Score for Erwin Romulo and Malek Lopez, while “Paglisan” won the Best Original Song for “Buhay Teatro” (music by Teresa Barrozo, lyrics by Christela Marquez, Aica Ganhinhin, Carl Papa, and Erika Estacio).

The Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences Awards (also known as FAMAS Awards) are the annual honors given by the Filipino Academy of Movie Arts and Sciences (FAMAS), an organization composed of prize-winning writers and movie columnists, for achievements in the for a calendar year.