ABS-CBN earns Liftime Achievement award from Gawad Tanglaw

ABS-CBN recently won the Tanglaw Broadcast Media Lifetime Achievement Award at the 17th Gawad Tanglaw Awards, earning the highest recognition from the award-giving body composed of film critics, scholars, historians, and professors of humanities from different universities.

The Gawad Tanglaw lauded the Kapamilya network“for serving the Filipino public through free television, digital terrestrial television, radio, cable, music, public advocacies, environmental protection and care and global television in its sixty five years of existence and for being the number one television network in the Philippines.”

The country’s leading media and entertainment company also dominated this year’s roster of winners with31 awardsfor four of its channels including ABS-CBN channel 2, ANC, the ABS-CBN News Channel, Metro Channel, and DZMM Radyo Patrol 630.

ASAP Natin ‘To” was declared Best Variety Show while “Ipaglaban Mo” won the Jury Award for Television Crime Anthology. Current affairs program “Pareng Partners” received the award for Best Communication Program Development while entrepreneurial show “My Puhunan” won the Jury Award for Sustainable Development in Entrepreneurship.

Ngayon at Kailanman” star Iza Calzado won Best Actress (Drama Series), while “Halik” stars Jericho Rosales and Daisy Cariño were named Best Actor (Drama Series) and Best Supporting Actress (TV Series), respectively. Edu Manzano won Best Supporting Actor (TV Series) for his role in “FPJ’s Ang Probinsyano” while Kapamilya hunk Tony Labrusca won the Gawad Elenita Navor-Hermoso para sa Natatanging Artista ng Bagong Henerasyon.

Maalaala Mo Kaya’s” “Duyan” episode also earned awards for its stars, with Allen Dizon and Meryll Soriano winning Best Performance by an Actor and Actress (Single Performance), respectively.

ABS-CBN’s lifestyle cable channel Metro also added to the Kapamilya network’s awards haul for programs that celebrate Filipino culture and style.  Local travel-cuisine shows “Show Me The Market,” “Chasing Flavors,” and “Food Prints” each won a Jury Award for Cultural Development and Sustainability. “Women of Style,” which puts the spotlight on accomplished Filipino women, won the Jury Award for Gender and Development, while home and interiors program “Metro Home” won the Jury Award for Sustainable Design and Innovation.

The country’s premier all-English cable news channel ANC, considered as the gold standard in Philippine news,  also picked up 13 trophies including Best TV Station, Best Business Program for both “The Boss” and “On the Money,” Best Public Affairs program  for “Beyond Politics,” and Best TV Female Anchor for “Headstart” anchor Karen Davila.

DZMM Radyo Patrol 630 also picked up an award for program “Usapang de Campanilla” which won Best Radio Public Service Program.

The Gawad Tanglaw, or Gawad Tagapuring mga Akademisyan ng Aninong Gumagalaw aims to honor exemplary work in film and television.